OK, you already know field phones like the TA-312 are a really nice item of kit to have for LP/OP and command centers.  Can you afford them along with a switchboard?  I recently bought a 1940's Navy Department Bureau of Yards and Docks at an auction for 30.00 and its going to be an experiment.  I have been collecting old phones for a couple years now and have about 15 of them.  More than I need but I don't know how many are INOP.

Now check out these YouTube videos and its going to all makes sense.

This first video is the best simple design.

For some reason when I copy and paste the links they are coping the first video.  I will try to add them in additional posts or at a later time.

Posted (edited)

These next two are more advanced skill to make and I really like them.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3l5se0gGM18&list=PLGrH50gcNqUrerOobcx75lwTGT1H7CIyk&index=4&t=13s

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JXICrHqCwHQ&list=PLGrH50gcNqUrerOobcx75lwTGT1H7CIyk&index=5&t=4s

Here is a very in depth video explaining an old switchboard.  It is similar to what I have.  This guy does a great job explaining it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mVQ-HLG0IPI&list=PLGrH50gcNqUrerOobcx75lwTGT1H7CIyk&index=23&t=0s

All right, this is it.  I hope I gave some of you guys some ideas.  I cant wait to try out that first video.  Always remember to improvise, adapt and overcome.

Edited by Swamp Fox
Text

I decided to by this PABX.  It was reasonably priced and no building involved.  It does take  110v power but can be remedied with an inverter and a 12v battery with solar to keep it charge and I already have those components.  It doesn't like older phones like from the early 80's and older.  You can still here but the mechanical ringer does not work to well.  I have enough phone line to test it out.  I need to buy some of those rolls of 1000' telephone line.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B015MIQ12A/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

check out this video on how it works.