RanchDressing

Newbie here; thanks for the add!

I'm an RN with years of Mobile Intensive Care Nurse , Level 1 Trauma experience, and I hope my expertise will never be needed by my fellow militia patriots.  That being said, I'm a mediocre  shooter and practicing to get better.  Hope to be a valuable asset to the team.  Thanks to y'all for contributing valuable information on this site.

Whoa ....  an RN!    Look, there are millions of people who can be taught to shoot adequately in a few hours.  But how long does it take to become an RN???  And one with years of experience? 

Would you be interested in helping put together a 'Militia First Aid' document?  There are dozens of publications available, but there ought to be one that is specifically for militia people, with an emphasis on penetrating wounds..   (I've been on some civilian First aid courses -- stop the bleeding, clear the airway --but none of them ever mentioned what to do for  a sucking chest wound, for example.)  We need such a document, which would also include what to get for battlefield first aid kit, and how to improvise where things are to expensive to buy.  I've been reading up on tournequets for example, but where I am concerned it's amateur hour.   We have a couple of other medical professionals here, so together we ought to be able to produce a first class document ... and maybe, even,  a video.  

Author of the topic Posted (edited)

Thank you for the warm welcome. Much appreciated.  Doug 1943, I might be interested in collaborating on a field manual in the future. At this time I'm studying for the SAR field exam and hope to take a man-tracking course in the spring.   In all fairness, I'm less of an academian and more of a hands-on practitioner.  Once I pass militia vetting and get my sea legs, I would like to know who else is interested in the project.  Thanks again. You ROCK!

Edited by RanchDressing