David Coelho

New to MyMilitia, new to gun culture

Hi everyone,

I'm excited to get to know everyone. I was referred to this page because I'm new to Libertarianism and see the need to protect my wife and I against the ever increasingly tyrannical government.

However, I'm still studying abroad (the Dominican Republic), so I'd like to read up on as much tactical related information, so that when I go to the United States I can know exactly what to do (ie. What guns to buy, how to prepare for clandestine/guerrilla warfare, etc.)

I come from a Brazilian family so we have absolutely 0 gun culture, so I know absolutely n-o-t-h-I-n-g about guns. So please, if you decide to help me out in regards to guns, talk to me as if I'm a 3 year old for all I care!

Anyway, I'm very eager to learn, and I thank you all in advance.

Stay free everyone,

David Coelho

Welcome.  Are you, by any chance, related to the author of The Alchemist?

On self-defense, etc. 

Probably the best place to start is YouTube.  If you put 'self-defense' into the Search Bar, you'll get a lot of videos to watch for free.

When you get to the US, the best thing to do is to make contact with a local militia, if possible, and go along to a meeting and talk to them.

I personally -- but this is just my personal view, not everyone would agree -- think that "guerilla war" in the US is very unlikely.  That is, warfare against an organized, intact, professional military. I think if that every happened, we'd all end up like a country man of yours did fifty years ago.  (I'm speaking of Carlos Marighella, whose book, MiniManual of the Urban Guerilla, I have just re-read.)

If you are immigating to the US and becoming a citizen, the very best way to get military training is to enlist in the National Guard.

I would love to talk with you more about mindset, skill set, & gear so feel free to PM me.