Author of the topic Posted

I am a member of the Tea Party,

a founding member of 'Oath Keepers'

a founding member of 'Oath Keepers - Liberty Tree'

a member of the Templar Knights of North America

former Asst S-3 (Civil Engr) of the 36th Engr Bn (Const), Vietnam, 1971

40+ years PE - IL, PA, IN, KS, CO

What is the difference between 'Oath Keepers' and 'Oath Keepers - Liberty Tree'?

I see you were/are an engineer.  Do you think there would be any value in a document for militia groups on the subject of combat engineering?  I'm thinking of something that briefly gives a history of the Combat Engineers, explains what it is they do, and then gives some advice to the group about how it can aquire engineering capacity.  (Keeping in mind that -- according to me at least -- a local militia group should ready to be available in natural and man made emergencies and disasters, engineering capacity would be critical.)

I'm not an engineer, but I'm thinking about things a simple as pry bars, shovels and axes, chain saws, lumber for reinforcing structures, the expertise and tools for dealing with power lines, etc.  Plus access to all-terain vehicles, perhaps with winches.  But as I say, I'm no engineer.  What are your thoughts on this?

Wonderful. I think your skills are in short supply   Medics and engineers and comms people are probably in great demand, or should be in any serious militia unit that actually wants to develop the ability to engage in prompt and sustained combat.

Here's the problem, though: there are hundreds of militia groups spread out from Alaska to Florida, California to Maine.  You can't be everywhere, and the marvellous medical people who have signed up can't be everywhere.