Gun Store Employee here: Dust off your "rare" guns

"It's sold out, and we don't know when more is coming"

Odds are you've heard that a lot if you didn't stock up on 9mm before 2020, same goes for .223/5.56 and .22lr. I've had to say that more times than I can count, because I'm a range officer at a gun store/indoor range, and spend about 75% of my time at work explaining to people who own either close to, or exactly, zero rounds of ammunition, that we don't have a single solitary round of shitty steel-case 9mm to sell them for their precious glock. It's all gone, and when it does appear it doesn't last long. To a lesser extent, almost all "common" calibers are very unlikely to be in stock anywhere you look. I have not seen a box of .38 special, or .357 magnum for sale in weeks. .380 is slim pickings and out of stock far more often than not. We got our first shipment of .40 caliber and .45 in ages last week, and both were sold out by the following day, and this isn't a little corner store: This is a large and well managed gun store, located in a fairly small town. We have over a million dollars in weapons and ammunition back-ordered from manufacturers with no ETA because the demand is outpacing the supply by a frankly ridiculous margin. If we don't have it: it's a safe bet almost nobody has it.

Being behind the counter 40 hours a week is a good way to see what stays in stock, and what vanishes quick. Two weeks ago my store got a shipment of 70,000 rounds of 9mm, and we were sold out within 4 hours, WITH a box limit on customers.  That was the last time we received 9mm ammo, everybody walking in looking for it since then has gotten the same answer: It's sold out, and we don't know when more is coming. It could arrive tomorrow, or we might not get it until next year.