I would like to bring to your attention a small pet peeve of mine. The ranks people claim in the militia. To understand my perspective on this, I will give you a little bit of my background. I am a veteran of the U.S. Army. I served 6 years and did three combat tours in Iraq as a forward observer (13F). Both active duty and in the National Guard, but enough about that.

Now the rank structure of the militias seems to follow the same basic structure of the Army. Makes sense, however this is being absurdly taking advantage of by a few. And those few are making a laughing stock of the rest of us. I have certainly spent much time shaking my head wondering “WTF?”

For those of you who have never spent time in the Army, let me help you understand where I am coming from. In the Army’s Infantry (which is the closest unit from which the militia bases itself) a Captain is basically the lowest commanding rank in a position of command and will take charge of a company. He will have a few lieutenants to run his platoons, but the guy in charge is a captain. He will have roughly a 160 or so men under his command. Usually three platoons of 40 men each and then a Headquarters Platoon filled with support personnel.

Rank of Major is usually not a rank of command, they are the lowest “field grade” officer and usually just support their Lieutenant Colonel (LTC). The Lieutenant Colonel is in charge of a battalion, upwards of seven companies and total of somewhere between 1200 to 1500 combat-ready men and women.

The next rank up is a ‘full bird’ Colonel, he is in charge of the brigade consisting of 4 to 7 battalions and is in charge of upward to 5000 to 8000 men and women. Next comes the Generals and the amount of men under their command is ridiculously high.